Our Blog RSS

The latest news and occasional commentary about what’s happening at the Foundation and around our great state. 

Rhode Island Foundation Blog


We are proud to be part of the Rhode Island community! Follow our blog for the latest news and occasional commentary about what’s happening at the Foundation and around our great state.

Thank you, volunteer advisors!
By Jean Cohoon / March 13, 2015 /   Loading Disqus...
Scores of community members assist the Foundation each year with the many facets of our work in meeting the needs of the people of Rhode Island.

We thank all those volunteers, listed below, who assisted us in 2014 on board committees, on advisory groups for Foundation initiatives, and as advisors on scholarship and other committee advised funds.

Your dedication and expertise are truly appreciated!

Audit Committee
Ned Handy
Mary Lovejoy
Fred Butler (Ex Officio)
Neil Steinberg (Ex Officio)

Development Committee
Mark Alperin
Peter Sullivan
George Graboys
Brenda Bolster
Patricia Flanagan, MD
Marie Langlois
Kevin Murphy
Fred Butler, Acting Chair
Neil Steinberg (Ex Officio)

Finance Committee
Cynthia Stewart Reed, Chair
Meredith A. Curren
Polly Daly
Kenneth N. Kermes
Fred Butler (Ex Officio)
Neil Steinberg (Ex Officio)

Investment Committee
Marie J. Langlois, Chair
David M. Hirsch
Jerrold Dorfman
Mary Lovejoy
Donald Quattrucci
Peter Damon
Fred Butler (Ex Officio)
Neil Steinberg (Ex Officio)

Nominative and Corporate Governance Committee
The Honorable Ronald K. Machtley, Chair
Polly Daly
Marie Langlois
The Honorable Ernest C. Torres
Fred Butler (Ex Officio)
Neil Steinberg (Ex Officio)

Professional Advisory Council
William L. Palmisciano, MBA, CLU, ChFC, Chair
Eric F. Archer, Esq.
Melissa K. Burnett-Testa, Esq.
Sarah (Sally) T. Dowling, Esq.
Martha Conn Hultzman, CPA, CGMA
Lawrence D. Hunt, Esq.
Jose Lopes, ChFC
Rogean B. Makowski, ChFC
Sandy F. Ross, CPA
Joseph J. Roszkowski, Jr., Esq.
Paul M. Sanford, Esq.
Amanda Tarzwell, Esq.
James (Jamie) L. Worrell, JD, PRP

Black Philanthropy Initiative Committee
The Honorable Edward C. Clifton
Jason Fowler
Beverly Ledbetter
Linda Newton
The Honorable Walter Stone

Equity Action Advisory Committee
Jean Burke
Angelo Garcia
Michael Grabo
Colleen Gregory
Delia Kovac
Scott Mirani
Annie Silvia
Katrina Souder
Jason Tranchida

Newport County Advisory Committee

Elizabeth Finn
Kristen Humphrey
Victoria Johnson
Leland Merrill, Jr.
John Murphy
John Trifero

Initiative for Nonprofit Excellence Best Practice Awards Selection Committee
Carolyn Belisle
Cheryl Del Pico
Elia Gurna
Jill Pfitzenmayer
Joanna Read
Herman Rose
Elizabeth Pasqualini

Rhode Island Innovation Fellowship Selection Panel
Neil D. Steinberg, Chair
Patricia Flanagan
Ted Nesi
Lisa Utman Randall
Dan Shedd
Rosanne Somerson
Don Stanford

Rhode Island Primary Care Educational Loan Repayment Committee
James Carney, PA-C
Lynne M. Dunphy, Ph.D.
Andrea Galgay
Jane A. Hayward
Peter Hollmann
Rebecca Kislak
Yvette Mendez
Donna Policastro
David Robison
Dr. Diane Siedlecki
Gail Walker

Technology Advisory Team
Tony Allison
Thomas Chase
Stephen DeRosa
Owen Johnson
Dean L. Patterson

Advisors on scholarship and other committee advised funds
Kathleen Alperin
Peter August
Theresa Austin
Toby Ayers
Renee Bailey
Peter Bancroft
Molly Bell
Susan Bellaire
Doug Benidt
Karen Black
Wendie Brennan
Sherilyn Brown
Ronald Caniglia
Julie Capobianco
Tony Carlone
Patricia Carlson
Gail Carney
Nancy Carriuolo
Kathy Chadwick
Dennis Chretien
Susan Church
Robert Closter
Michael Coan
Jennifer Coccio
David Cochran
Charles Cofone
Clarkson Collins
Ellen Conroy
Nancy Corkery
Michelle Cortez Harkins
Shelly Costaregni
Joan Countryman
Isabel Coyle
David Craig
James D’Ambra
Robert DeBlois
Vanessa Del Giudice
Richard Delgado
Sandra DelSesto
Donna DeLucia
Penelope Dennehy
Christopher Dennis
Nicholas DePetrillo
John Desmarais
C. Rick Devin
Melissa Devine
Anita DeWitt
Barbara Dickinson
Jane Dickson
Donna DiMichele
Donna Doyle
Benjamin Edwards
Marilyn Edwards
Robert Edwards, Jr.
Grace Eudenbach
Amanda Evers
Ellen Ewens
Betty Faella
Philomena Fayanjuola
Anthony Ferraro
Timothy Flanagan
Adam Fong
Francyne Fontaine
Scott Fowler
Rupert Friday
Lewis Gaffett
Nat Gaffett
Victor Gaspar
Marie Ghazal
Betty Gilbert
Cynthia Goldsmith
Clarence Gough
Lori Greenleaf
David Gregg
Denise Guernon
Robert Guernon
Joan Haas
Gail Hall
Stephen Hay
H. Dennis Heinz
Robert Hoffman
Cathy Holmstrom
Roberta Hopkins
Junior Jabie
John Jacobsen
Theodore Jakubowski
Doug Jeffrey
Christine Jenkins
Deborah Johnson
Tony Johnson
Victoria Johnson
Kathleen Kelly
Beverly Kenney
Mary Ann Killilea
Heemong Kim
Judi King
Albert Klyberg
Curtis Koren
Jay Lacouture
Rachel Lapkin
Brian Larkin
Jeffrey Liguori
Melissa Lipa
James Malachowski
Ralph Malafronte
Luisa Maloof
Marta Martinez
Colin McCullough
Maureen McKenna Goldberg
Leslie McKnight
Holly McLear
Elizabeth McNab
Angelo Mendillo
Nancy Mendizabal
Charlotte Metcalf
Lucy Metcalf
Pauline Metcalf
David Milner
Ginger Milner
Kevin Murphy
Gretchen Needham
Dana Newbrook
Linda Newton
Linda Nightingale Greenwood
Maureen Nolan
Janet O’Connor
Lorraine O’Connors
Anne Ott
Suzanne Paton
Elaine Perry
Marie Petrarca
Blake Phelan
Michele Phelan
Cynthia Pires
Donna Policastro
Frances Prescott
Janice Primiano
Maureen Quackenbush
Cristiana Quinn
Herbert Rakatansky
Roberta Richman
Tia Ristaino-Siegel
Nancy Roberts
Olivia Rodrigues
Delia Rodriguez-Masjoan
Elinor Rosevear
Joseph Sabetta
Colleen Saila
Tony Sanchez
Patricia Sanford
Mathies Santos
Jay Schachne
Anne Sculco
Edward Servello
Zahir Shaikh
Julie Sharpe
Michael Shields
Els Shine
Matthew Simeone
Raymond Simone
Nancy Sincoski
Robert Sirhal
Mary Alice Smith
Robert Smith
Mary Ann Sorrentino
Lillian Sparfven
Catherine Sparks
Cathy Speer
Susan Starkweather
R. Gwenn Stearn
Randall Steere
Joyce Stevos
Terry Sullivan
Lawrence Taft
David Tedeschi
John Terry
William Thomas Roper
Louis Toro
Donna Trinque
Brian VanHouwe
Ruth Vann
Elizabeth Vargas
Deborah Ventresca
Zhanna Volynskaya
Kenneth Walker
Carol Wardwell
Sylvia Weber
Walter Wilks
Steven Winsor
Paul Wright
Otis Wyatt, Jr.
Amy Young
Carol Young
Cornel Young
Du Yun
Arthur Zarrella
Melvin Zurier
blog comments powered by Disqus

Featured Post

  • Rhode Island Foundation announces six recipients of college scholarships in the name of Roger Williams Posted last month
    The four-year, renewable scholarships are through the Carter Roger Williams Initiative, which was launched two years ago by philanthropists Letitia and late John Carter.
  • Rhode Island Foundation awards $285,000 to Newport County nonprofits Posted last month
    The grants, through our Newport County Fund, will underwrite a host of activities ranging from workforce training and after-school activities to preventing relationship violence and protecting vulnerable seniors.
  • $2.6 million awarded for behavioral health care Posted last month
    Six nonprofit organizations will use $2.6 million in grants to support primary and secondary prevention models and high-quality, affordable behavioral health care services across the state. The funding is the first from the Behavioral Health Fund at the Rhode Island Foundation.
  • Vision and commitment Posted last month
    Hundreds of community and business leaders, donors, grant recipients, and other partners gathered at the Rhode Island Convention Center on May 16 for our 2019 Annual Meeting. Here are highlights of what our President and CEO Neil D. Steinberg told them.
  • Rose Fund grants stimulate civic and cultural dialogue Posted 2 months ago
    The primary goals are to strengthen libraries and other civic, cultural and literacy-focused organizations and expand their role as community centers that stimulate dialogue around critical issues.
Read More »


LocationOne Union Station
Providence, RI 02903


(401) 274-4564

E-News Sign Up