Honoring our advisor partners

The Harold B. Soloveitzik Professional Leadership Award

The award is aptly named in honor of Harold B. Soloveitzik, who influenced the lives of many people over his 91 years: his family, his friends, his clients, his staff, and the many charities he grew to consider part of the very fabric and essence of his life. Born in Westerly in 1913, Harold was the first in his family to obtain a college education. He graduated in 1935 from what is now the University of Rhode Island, and went on to Boston University School of Law, earning his law degree in 1938. After serving in WWII, he returned to Westerly to practice law. Harold developed a reputation over the years as an outstanding title attorney and built a successful law practice.

Harold was also a dedicated philanthropist himself; through three permanent endowments at the Foundation, Harold chose to generously support the work of several Westerly-area charities: the Memorial and Library Association of Westerly, the YMCA of Westerly-Pawcatuck, the Westerly Hospital, and the Westerly Ambulance Corps. His generosity extended beyond Westerly to URI, the Jewish Federation of Rhode Island, and the American Association of University Women – Westerly chapter. 

Harold says he practiced law because it was his lifeblood. His attitude towards philanthropy was similar: “Whatever you have, you give part back in thanks for what you have received.”

Each year, we have the honor of presenting the Harold B. Soloveitzik Professional Leadership Award to a professional advisor who embodies outstanding service to philanthropy. Through this award, we celebrate the contributions to the Rhode Island Foundation of attorneys, accountants, wealth advisors, and other planning professionals who have demonstrated a personal and professional commitment to philanthropy.

2000: Edward B. Corcoran, Esq. 
2001: Robert L.G. Bachelor, CPA
2002: John W. Corbishley, CLU 
2003: Noel M. Field, Jr., Esq. 
2004: Richard A. Plotkin, CPA
2005: Rogean B. Makowski
2006: Calvert C. Groton, Esq.
2007:  Charles P. Lee
2008:  Karen G. DelPonte, Esq.
2009: Barry G. Hittner, Esq.
2010: Paul A. Silver, Esq.
2011: James V. Aukerman, Esq.
2012: Deborah DiNardo, Esq.
2013: A. Max Kohlenberg, Esq.
2014: Leon C. Boghossian III, Esq.
2015: Benjamin G. Paster, Esq.
2017: Rhode Island Society of Certified Public Accountants


LocationOne Union Station
Providence, RI 02903


(401) 274-4564

E-News Sign Up